The Tesla Powerwall 3 combines a 13.5kWh home battery and solar inverter in one unit, which makes it particularly well suited to new solar installations.
It has 13.5kWh of usable storage, an integrated solar inverter and 89% solar-to-battery-to-grid round-trip efficiency in Tesla’s Australian datasheet. It also qualifies for the federal Cheaper Home Batteries rebate, which can reduce the installed price by roughly $3,700 before certificate fees and market-rate adjustments.
This review covers the specifications, installed cost in Australia, the current federal rebate and how the Powerwall 3 compares with alternatives such as BYD and Sigenergy.
Considering a Powerwall 3 for your home? SolaXs is a CEC-accredited installer with 25+ years experience on the Mid North Coast. We install Tesla batteries and can help you work out the right system size. Get a free quote.
Last updated: 7 September 2026. Specifications and rebate settings were checked against Tesla’s Australian datasheet and the Australian Government’s Cheaper Home Batteries Program.
Tesla Powerwall 3 Capacity and Specifications
How many kWh is a Tesla Powerwall 3? It has 13.5kWh of usable battery capacity from 14kWh total energy, according to Tesla’s official Australian datasheet. Its nominal AC output can be configured up to 11.04kW, subject to local connection requirements.
| Specification | Powerwall 3 |
|---|---|
| Usable capacity | 13.5 kWh |
| Cell chemistry | Not stated in Tesla’s Australian datasheet |
| Continuous output | Up to 11.04 kW (5 kW on three-phase connections) |
| Motor-start capability | 185 A locked rotor current |
| Charging rate | 5 kW |
| Round-trip efficiency | 89% solar-to-battery-to-grid |
| Integrated inverter | Yes (up to 20 kW solar input, 3 MPPT inputs) |
| Solar input capacity | Up to 20 kW |
| Operating temp | -20°C to 50°C |
| Weatherproofing | IP67 |
| Weight | 130 kg |
| Dimensions | 1,105 x 609 x 193 mm |
| Warranty | 10 years / 70% capacity retention |
| Grid-forming | Yes (full home backup) |
| Expandable | Up to 4 Powerwall 3 units; expansion units are also available |
Source: Tesla Powerwall 3 Datasheet (AU).
What Changed from Powerwall 2 to Powerwall 3
The Powerwall 3 is a substantial redesign. The most useful changes for homeowners are the built-in solar inverter and much higher power output.
| Feature | Powerwall 2 | Powerwall 3 |
|---|---|---|
| Capacity | 13.5 kWh | 13.5 kWh |
| Continuous output | 5 kW | 11.04 kW |
| Peak output | 7 kW | 185 A motor-start capability |
| Cell chemistry | Not stated in current Australian datasheet | Not stated in current Australian datasheet |
| Integrated inverter | No | Yes |
| Coupling | AC-coupled only | DC-coupled (AC option for retrofits) |
| Round-trip efficiency | ~90% | 89% solar-to-battery-to-grid |
The higher continuous output is the headline improvement. Tesla rates Powerwall 3 at up to 11.04kW nominal AC output, compared with 5kW for Powerwall 2. That gives an installer more headroom when designing backup circuits for loads such as ducted air conditioning.
Tesla does not identify Powerwall 3’s cell chemistry in its current Australian datasheet. Claims that every Australian Powerwall 3 uses LFP should therefore be treated as unconfirmed unless Tesla updates its local documentation.
Tesla Powerwall 3 Inverter Size and System Design
The integrated inverter can provide up to 11.04kW nominal AC output and accept up to 20kW of solar input across three MPPTs. The final output setting depends on the grid connection and approved system design.
For a new solar installation, this means you may not need a separate Fronius or Goodwe inverter. For a retrofit, your current inverter can stay and the Powerwall 3 can operate as an AC-coupled battery.
If yours is a retrofit, adding a battery to an existing solar system starts with checking inverter compatibility, switchboard space and backup-circuit design.
- New solar + battery installs (DC-coupled): One box handles both solar conversion and battery storage. Tesla lists 97.5% solar-to-grid efficiency and 89% solar-to-battery-to-grid round-trip efficiency.
- Adding to existing solar (AC-coupled): The Powerwall 3 can work alongside a compatible existing inverter, avoiding the need to replace serviceable solar equipment.
- Grid-forming capability: During a blackout, the Powerwall 3 creates its own micro-grid. Your home runs on battery power with no interruption.
- Future expansion: Tesla supports systems with up to four Powerwall 3 units, while one Powerwall 3 can accept up to three 13.5kWh expansion units. Tesla also supports selected Powerwall 2 and Powerwall 3 combinations when the required software and hardware conditions are met.
If you are building a new 6.6kW solar system or 10kW system, the integrated inverter means there is one less major component to specify and install.
Tesla Powerwall 3 Price in Australia After the Rebate
The Tesla Powerwall 3 price after the rebate is commonly about $8,300 to $12,300 installed, based on an estimated pre-rebate range of $12,000 to $16,000 fully installed. Your actual discount depends on the STC market value, certificate fees, installation date and system eligibility, so a written site-specific quote is the figure to rely on.
Our guide to how much solar batteries cost in Australia explains the other equipment and installation factors that affect a quote.
- Federal CHBP rebate (installations from May to December 2026): the published 6.8 STC factor applies to each eligible kWh up to and including 14kWh. For a 13.5kWh Powerwall 3, the gross certificate value is about $3,672 if STCs trade at $40 each, before fees.
- Net installed cost after rebate: roughly $8,300 to $12,300 depending on installation complexity
- Expansion units: approximately $5,000 to $7,500 installed per additional unit
- Payback period: Calculate it from the household’s interval data, tariff and expected battery use rather than relying on a generic average.
The federal rebate calculation changed on 1 May 2026. The STC factor fell from 8.4 to 6.8 per eligible kWh, and the published factor will fall to 5.7 for installations from 1 January to 30 June 2027. Batteries up to and including 14kWh, such as the 13.5kWh Powerwall 3, receive 100% of the applicable factor. Our guide to the current federal battery rebate and NSW VPP incentive explains the household eligibility details. Source: DCCEEW Cheaper Home Batteries Program.
How the Tesla Powerwall 3 Compares to Alternatives
The Powerwall 3 is not the only good battery on the market. We have tested and installed most of the best solar batteries available in Australia. BYD and Sigenergy both offer strong alternatives, and which one suits you depends on your existing setup and priorities.
| Feature | Tesla Powerwall 3 | BYD HVM | Sigenergy |
|---|---|---|---|
| Usable capacity | 13.5 kWh | 8.8 – 22.1 kWh (modular) | 10 – 30 kWh (modular) |
| Continuous output | 11.04 kW | Depends on inverter | 5 – 10 kW |
| Integrated inverter | Yes | No (needs separate) | Yes (optional) |
| Round-trip efficiency | 89% solar-to-battery-to-grid | ~95% | ~95% |
| Installed price (approx) | $12,000 – $16,000 | $8,000 – $14,000 | $10,000 – $15,000 |
| Best for | New solar + battery | Adding to Fronius system | EV owners, modular growth |
| Warranty | 10 years | 10 years | 10 years |
Powerwall 3’s integrated inverter favours a new solar-and-battery installation. A home that already has a serviceable Fronius inverter may get better value from BYD Battery Box, while Sigenergy offers more granular capacity expansion. Our Tesla Powerwall vs BYD Battery Box comparison goes deeper on the first two options.
Known Limitations and Drawbacks
Its main trade-offs are fan noise, a 5kW charge rate and constraints on three-phase backup.
- Fan noise: The cooling fans can reach up to 62 decibels under heavy load, according to SolarQuotes testing. That is roughly the volume of a conversation. Mount it away from bedroom windows.
- 5kW charging rate: The battery charges at a maximum of 5kW. If you are on a time-of-use tariff and want to charge from cheap off-peak grid power, filling 13.5kWh takes close to three hours.
- Western Australia cap: The continuous output is limited to 5kW in WA due to local grid standards, halving the backup capacity.
- Three-phase backup limitation: On three-phase homes, the Powerwall 3 cannot run three-phase appliances during a blackout. It backs up single-phase loads only.
- Internet required for full warranty: Tesla requires an active internet connection. Without it, the warranty drops from 10 years to 4 years.
- Not off-grid capable: The Powerwall 3 is designed for grid-connected homes with backup. It does not support fully off-grid installations.
- Efficiency figures need context: Tesla’s 97.5% figure is solar-to-grid efficiency. Its Australian datasheet lists 89% for solar-to-battery-to-grid round-trip efficiency in a typical solar-shifting use case.
None of these are deal-breakers for most Mid North Coast households on standard single-phase grid connections. The noise and charging rate are the two most commonly reported complaints from owners.
Tesla App and Energy Management
The Tesla app, available on iOS and Android, shows solar generation, battery state, home consumption and grid import or export in real time. The controls are clear enough for day-to-day use without visiting the inverter or switchboard.
Three operating modes let you optimise for different goals:
- Self-Powered: Maximises self-consumption of your solar energy. The battery stores excess solar and discharges it in the evening.
- Time-Based Control: Charges during cheap off-peak periods and discharges during expensive peak periods. Best for time-of-use tariffs.
- Backup Reserve: Keeps a set percentage of battery charge reserved for blackouts. You choose how much to hold back.
Tesla’s Opticaster software uses weather forecasts and your usage patterns to optimise charging and discharging automatically.
Storm Watch monitors severe-weather alerts for the area and can charge the battery in preparation. That is useful on the Mid North Coast when storms threaten the local grid.
The system also receives over-the-air software updates that add new features over time.
Warranty and After-Sales Support
Tesla’s Australian warranty provides 10 years of coverage with 70% energy retention, subject to its stated conditions and operating limits. Seventy per cent of the original 13.5kWh rating is 9.45kWh.
There are conditions to be aware of:
- Internet connectivity: The unit must maintain an internet connection. If disconnected for an extended period, the warranty reduces to 4 years.
- VPP throughput limit: If the battery participates in a Virtual Power Plant program, the warranty covers 37,800 kWh of total throughput (whichever comes first, 10 years or throughput).
- Standard use: For normal household use without VPP participation, the warranty is purely time-based with unlimited cycles.
Read the current Tesla Powerwall warranty for Australia and New Zealand before purchase. Installation and commissioning also need to follow Tesla’s requirements and the applicable accreditation rules.
Who the Tesla Powerwall 3 Is Best For
Powerwall 3 makes the most sense in a new solar installation, especially where blackout power and high output matter. Our guide to choosing the best solar batteries for your home explains the wider selection criteria.
- New solar system installs where you want one integrated unit handling both solar and storage
- Homes that need blackout protection with up to 11.04kW nominal output on a compatible single-phase connection
- High electricity users who can use more of their stored solar rather than exporting it at a lower rate
- Homes on the Mid North Coast where storm-related outages make backup capacity more valuable
- People who value monitoring and want detailed real-time data through the Tesla app
It is not the best fit if you already have a working inverter and just want affordable storage. In that case, a BYD battery paired with your existing inverter is a better use of your money.
Tesla Powerwall 3 Installation on the Mid North Coast
SolaXs is a CEC-accredited installer based in Port Macquarie with 25+ years in the solar industry. We install Powerwall 3 units across the Mid North Coast, from Coffs Harbour to Taree and everywhere in between.
- Site assessment to determine the best mounting location and system configuration
- Electrical work including the Tesla Backup Gateway installation
- Connection to your existing or new solar system
- Full commissioning, Tesla app setup, and grid connection paperwork
- Rebate processing handled by us. The federal CHBP rebate is applied at point of sale.
Installation time depends on switchboard work, cable routes, mounting access and the backup configuration. SolaXs confirms the expected schedule in the written quote, including for larger setups such as a 13.2kW solar system.
Is the Powerwall 3 Worth It on the Mid North Coast
Powerwall 3 payback on the Mid North Coast depends on how much surplus solar a home can store and use later. Roof orientation, shade and seasonal consumption matter more than a broad regional average. Local conditions in Port Macquarie still need to be modelled for the individual property.
Start with your daily solar exports and electricity tariff. Those two figures do most of the work in a battery payback estimate.
- Your export rate vs peak rate: The bigger the gap between what you earn exporting and what you pay at peak, the faster the battery pays back.
- Daily surplus generation: Your solar panel system needs to consistently overproduce to fill the 13.5kWh capacity.
- Blackout frequency: The Mid North Coast experiences storm-related outages. The Powerwall 3 provides seamless backup that keeps your home running.
- Electricity prices: Use current rates and a conservative escalation assumption rather than relying on future price rises to justify the purchase.
- Compatibility: The Powerwall 3 includes a built-in solar inverter, which simplifies new installations. A retrofit may instead use AC coupling with the existing inverter.
What to Consider Before Adding a Battery
A home solar battery only saves money when there is enough surplus energy to store and enough later consumption to use it. Check these points before buying.
- How much do you export? Check your energy bill or monitoring app. If you already use most of your solar during the day, there may be little surplus for a battery to capture.
- What tariff are you on? A wider gap between the feed-in tariff and the rate paid for evening imports generally improves the savings. Flat-rate tariffs can reduce the value of load shifting.
- Do you lose power often? If blackouts are common in your area, a battery with backup capability keeps your lights and fridge running.
- Is your solar system big enough? A battery needs surplus solar to charge. If your panels barely cover your daytime usage, adding a battery will not help until you upgrade the system.
- Can your inverter handle it? Hybrid inverters work with batteries natively. If you have a standard string inverter, you may need an AC-coupled battery or a properly designed solar system upgrade.
A 6.6kW solar system can support a battery where it produces enough surplus after daytime household use, but system size alone does not prove the purchase will pay back. Contact SolaXs for an assessment based on interval data and the current tariff.
Get a Powerwall 3 quote from SolaXs. We handle everything from site assessment to rebate paperwork. Local team, CEC accredited, 25+ years on the Mid North Coast. Contact us for a free quote.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a Tesla Powerwall 3 cost installed in Australia?
Expect to pay between $12,000 and $16,000 fully installed before the federal rebate. After the Cheaper Home Batteries rebate (approximately $3,672 for the 13.5kWh unit), the net cost sits between roughly $8,300 and $12,300 depending on your installation complexity and location.
Does the Powerwall 3 qualify for the federal battery rebate?
Yes. The Powerwall 3 qualifies for the federal Cheaper Home Batteries Program. At 13.5kWh, it falls within Tier 1 (0 to 14kWh) and receives the full rate of approximately $272 per kWh. The rebate is applied as a point-of-sale discount by your installer. For full eligibility details, see our federal solar battery rebate guide.
How long will the Powerwall 3 power my home during a blackout?
Runtime depends on the loads being supplied. Dividing the available 13.5kWh by the home’s average demand gives a rough starting point, but heating, hot water and air conditioning can shorten it quickly. Compatible solar can recharge the battery during daylight, subject to weather and the backup system design.
Can I add a Powerwall 3 to my existing solar system?
Yes. The Powerwall 3 supports AC coupling, which means it can work alongside a compatible existing solar inverter. Your panels and inverter can stay in place, although the installer still needs to check system compatibility, metering and backup-circuit design.
What is the real round-trip efficiency?
Tesla’s Australian datasheet lists 89% solar-to-battery-to-grid round-trip efficiency in a typical solar-shifting use case. The separate 97.5% figure is solar-to-grid efficiency, so it should not be used as the battery’s round-trip result. Actual household performance will vary with power level, temperature and system design.
Is the Powerwall 3 noisy?
Tesla specifies operating noise below 50dB(A) typically and below 62dB(A) at maximum. SolaXs recommends mounting the unit away from bedroom windows.
Can the Powerwall 3 run a whole house during a blackout?
On a compatible single-phase home, it can back up most or all circuits if the system is designed for their combined demand. Tesla lists up to 11.04kW nominal output and a 5kW limit on three-phase connections, so the backup design must account for how loads are distributed across phases.
How does the Powerwall 3 compare to the Powerwall 2?
The Powerwall 3 raises nominal continuous output from 5kW to as much as 11.04kW and adds a built-in solar inverter. Storage capacity stays at 13.5kWh. Tesla lists 89% solar-to-battery-to-grid round-trip efficiency for Powerwall 3; the often-quoted 97.5% figure is its solar-to-grid efficiency.
Does the Powerwall 3 work off-grid?
No. The Powerwall 3 is designed for grid-connected homes with backup capability. It provides seamless backup during blackouts but does not support permanently off-grid installations. If you need an off-grid system, talk to SolaXs about alternative configurations.
Can the Powerwall 3 participate in a Virtual Power Plant?
Yes. The Powerwall 3 is compatible with Virtual Power Plant (VPP) programs, including the NSW VPP incentive. VPP programs let your battery export stored energy to the grid during peak demand in exchange for credits or payments. Be aware that VPP participation adds a throughput limit to your warranty (37,800 kWh total), so it may slightly reduce the effective warranty period depending on how heavily the battery cycles.
What solar system size pairs best with a Powerwall 3?
For many Mid North Coast homes, a 6.6kW solar system to 10kW solar system can pair well with a single Powerwall 3. The right match depends on daytime consumption, seasonal generation and how much energy is exported now. If the existing system cannot create enough surplus, a larger solar system may be a better fit. Use our sizing guide to compare system sizes against your household usage.
How many Powerwall 3 units do I need?
One 13.5kWh unit may suit a home whose overnight use and backup priorities fit within that capacity. Tesla supports up to four Powerwall 3 units and expansion capacity, but the right number comes from interval data, backup loads and available solar generation. Talk to SolaXs for a site-specific recommendation.
